Some shows I’m doing here (September to December 2017)

Announcing three shows I will be watching here for Anime Solstice. On my column on OASG, I take a look at shows that come out in the latest season. I praise some, and I despair over others. And I sometimes drop some too. Here however, I’ll be taking a look at some out-of-season and classic shows.

cut-4

Scum’s Wish (available on Amazon)

Okay so this is a show that has eluded me for so long. I had planned to review this for OASG when it came out in the Winter 2017 season, but I hadn’t planned on getting Amazon back then. Now I do, I can finally check it out.

Hanabi is in love with old friend/homeroom teacher Narumi, but he has fallen for new music teacher Akane. After meeting Mugi (who is also in love with Akane), the two love-blind students decide to strike a deal and have a fake romantic relationship, to satisfy their loneliness from their unrequited loves.

I’m already watching a very interesting school romance show, Love and Lies (which, coincidentally, is also on Amazon), and romance shows that stray away from the ‘boy-meets-girl, two-fall-in-love, end-of-story’ norm get me suddenly interested in watching anime all over again.

UHJ58h6

Gatchaman Crowds Insight (available on Crunchyroll & home video)

I love Gatchaman Crowds. I didn’t think a eccentric, crazy and leftfield show like this would exist, and that I’d warm to it straightaway. Set around a year after the events of season 1, the Japanese Prime Minister gives his official approval of the Gatchaman team, and as elections (which can now be done via smartphone) take place, an mysterious spaceship lands, leading to a arrival of a new Gatchaman, Tsubasa. And now Rui has stopped playing the true neutral character and joined the team, he is chasing up a lead on something called Red CROWDS.

It’ll be great to see Hajime in action again. Plus I will confess that I have a bit of a thing for girls who wear ties.

51ETVCALoOL

Taisho Baseball Girls (available on home video)

1925. The Taisho era. After a baseball player declares that women should concentrate on being housewives instead of going to school, two schoolgirls set out to prove him wrong by forming their own baseball team.

Admittedly, I don’t know very much about the history of Japan in the 20th-century…some weeb I’m supposed to be. I know a show like this won’t portray everything, but I got this show for cheap, and I guess that’s another reason for me to check this out šŸ™‚

I will also be reviewing Lupin III: The Woman Called Fujiko Mine over on my OASG column.

fujikogun

Leave a Reply

