Anime Solstice

i watch bad shows.

What happened when I watched: pupa.

3 Comments

This is, apparently, one of the most hated shows that ever exists. So of course this is something I have to do.

Apparently this was delayed, and then when it was eventually released, no-one gave it any real positive reviews. All I really know about it is that it’s a horror show, each episode is only about 4 or 5 minutes long, and that it features a weird brother-sister relationship. It could be a good thing that each episode is about 4 or 5 minutes long; perhaps it was that bad that even the people in the studio were tearing their hair out over it.

For the record, I glanced at 10 minutes in the past, and had made some kind of mind up about what all 12 ‘episodes’ were like there and then without actually watching all of them, so this is going to be fun…

NB: Possible rage below.

aargrgrhhrhigfnvksdfjngsjvbkjnsfdbsgsvdklknnnvcncxbjdhgkfjkmnvccbsjj!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

[40 minutes earlier]

This opening 10 minutes are what I remember.

Boy character, Utsutsu (with highly suspicious scar across his eye) is another one of those generic loners who feels that his life mission is to protect his little sister Yume. I think that it was at the point where dumb sister ran into creepy lady with black hat and cat when I began to lose it. Any girl with some kind of brain cell in them would freak out if they saw blood-red butterflies swarming around them. Then soon after when she becomes that purple monster, everyone (the creepy lady, the people carrying away body parts) and yours truly was like ‘meh’.

“This will prove troublesome to clean up.” (Blood and flesh is hard to get out of Astro turf after all)

“My name is Maria. I’m a researcher.” (Of what? And at that point, do I even care what your name is?)

“You needn’t worry. We’ll take care of the bodies.” (Oh good)

*dumb onii-chan looks confluzzled* (The girl you’ve been protecting so desperately has just turned into a bizarre monster and hacked away at passer-by’s limbs, dragging some of them away into the bushes, and is now eating them – at least have some more emotion…)

*dumb onii-chan gets himself hacked apart, only to reappear shortly afterwards intact in another ‘episode’ and signs a metaphorical contract to let Yume eat him all over again* (Okay so I knew that Utsutsu could regenerate, but………I didn’t actually care anymore)

And so it was around this point, when I learned that the brother and sister could get even closer with boy letting girl eat him while moaning his name almost erotically. This whole process seemed to go for a long time until that creepy lady with her black hat and her cat decided it would be the decent thing and kidnap both of them – they would hack him apart to see how quickly his organs would regenerate, and would monitor how voracious her appetite really was.

Perhaps they ought to just fed her live animals and that would have been fine enough for her, but no. Since both Utsutsu and Yume were victims of the Pupa virus, no actual effort seemed to be made about curing them both; the researchers just seemed to get off on their suffering.

  • Rip out a kidney, sure. Does that hurt? Too bad, you’ll get another one, and we’ll rip that one out too.
  • Hungry, kid? Want a piece of flesh? Too bad, we’ll watch you turn into more of a monster.

 

Anyway, where was I?

pupa lands into the area where I don’t care about anyone. It makes me question the meaning of life. It makes me wonder how anime studios these days can actually believe that something like dire as this can easily be passed as entertainment. In those 40 minutes where I watched the whole thing in one go, I began to despair.

By the time the end credits of the final ‘episode’ were rolling, I pictured myself in a place like Hope’s Peak Academy, where despair would chew me up and spit me out entirely. This despair wouldn’t make me violent; it would make me one of those people rocking back and forth in a corner sobbing inside.

……and then I’d snap out of it and ask myself “What the fuck did I just watch?!?!?!?!”

It didn’t entirely make it as mad as when I watched Himegoto though. Don’t get me wrong, though. I went through suffering; a lot of suffering. These 40 minutes are minutes I’ll never get back. Those 40 minutes could have been spent washing and drying the dishes, doing my laundry, and tidy my room. But instead having to endure a girl eating her older brother in a sea of disgusting watercolour animation……Watching and hearing a script that could never be salvaged, even by a Nobel Laureate……Having to watch these 12 ‘episodes’ in a dazed and delirious state where time just stops and all you can think about is switching off entirely and still live the rest of your life with the fact that you have been tarnished by actually watching this piece of turd……

No Western distributor wanted to touch this. Not even Funimation. So:

Do I believe that the studio was right to keep this at 4 minutes per episode because making them any longer would require actual effort to write a shitty script and animate pretty poorly? Yes.

Do I believe that the VAs will live in regret that they will have this on their resumes? Absolutely.

Do I believe that the studio, the director, and the writers will be laughed at even more? Possibly.

Do I believe this was a good adaptation of a bad manga? I’ll let you answer that one.

And finally, do I ever want to watch this again…or even read a review that doesn’t put this show down? I’ll just leave it at that.

Needs more salt.

3 thoughts on “What happened when I watched: pupa.

  1. Your post prompted me to take a good look at my “Terrible Anime Challenge” concept (which never really took off) and reminds me to never allow people to just recommend me stuff out of the blue, otherwise I’d be forced to sit through shows such as Pupa at the expense of my mental health 😛

    • Well actually I welcome such recommendations. Suggest anything you deem terrible, and I’ll give it a shot. I have two more in my list to write so far (won’t mention them just yet, mind).

      • I’ve got no stomach for horror of that sort, but I’ll suggest things if they come across my mind. For some strange reason, I’m okay with the level of violence in DOOM, though.

Leave a Reply

