What I really REALLY hated about anime in 2015.

Every single year I keep meaning to do the one thing: catch-up. Catch up on old shows, start new ones, follow each cour in each year like some uber-religious weeaboo. But it’s usually the case that I fall behind on one (if not all) of those.

Maybe I ought to make this blog about…cookery instead?

Well while last year I did the whole 12 days thing that hipster anibloggers do, I gave up completely, purely because I just feel like I wasn’t feeling this year at all. Aside from stand-out shows like Hibike! Euphonium, Cinderella Girls, the second half of Shirobako, Himouto! Umaru-chan, Non Non Biyori season 2 and a couple of others which I loved but everyone else didn’t (like Saekano and Yuri Kuma Arashi), this year could have been so much better for me.

So I’m doing a hate post. I’m going all SJW this Christmas. Humbug.

(do remember, this is all personal opinion, but since I’m being an SJW right now, my opinion is the ONLY opinion! XD)

Oh, Rolling☆Girls, why did you have to suck so much?!

Do you remember this show? In the Winter cour. No? Don’t worry. I’ll be surprised if you did.

I actually had planned to do this show for OASG, but then Koufuku Graffiti landed on my lap instead…and I’m very glad it did. I’m often rather skeptical in terms of coming-of-age shows; in fact anything (whether it be a TV show, a movie, or a book) with a coming-of-age theme. A show set in an alternate Japan is something that is not new, but I will admit that the concept of everyday superheroes is an interesting one. I was just so annoyed at its execution.

These 4 very dim-witted girls feel compelled on a mission to do the good deeds that their hospital-bound ‘superhero’ no longer can; watching this made me think that it was in fact their own stupidity that saved them in every episode.

Added to the fact that, with my epilepsy, the show’s visuals gave me massive headaches. I should have known better and drop a show that could potentially have given me poor health, but no. I turned out to be just as stupid as the 4 girls…

Nisekoi season 2: The Chitoge Strikes Back

Season 1 of Nisekoi was a total Marmite show (either loved or hated), and SHAFT took a big risk, I think, for adapting it. I for one fall under the ‘love’ category, and as the Best Girl wars were raging, I sided with Ruri, like everyone secretly did.

Then we heard the great news that it would get a second season. And then when it came……nothing. We felt nothing. I lost count of the people I knew who had dropped the show from either the first episode or the second.

I wanted it to be so much better, and I was disappointed. The locket-and-key story didn’t matter anymore; it no longer mattered which key worked for the locket because we all knew that Raku felt something for Chitoge, Kosaki and Marika. Only Chitoge’s reaction faces saved the day, really. I guess if you wanted to be positive about it then you could say they were deleted episodes from season 1.

Will Durarara!! ever end?

Don’t worry; it will. Winter 2016 will see the final part of x2, thank god…well for me, anyway.

I had wanted to get back into this because of how much I enjoyed the original show, but all the action, suspense and occasional comedy just seemed to turn into bread-and-butter.

More disappointment.

(don’t worry…the next topic won’t be about a show I was disappointed about…)

Houkago no Pleiades: Product Placement

I feel kind of awful that this had to be here, because the story itself was not actually that bad. I just ended up scratching my head; why? Why did Gainax have to go this far? To get a car company to actually sponsor the show (in effect)? Maybe their writers just threw together something after a night’s heavy drinking, and their collective dreams told a story about a dumb girl with an astronomy hobby who discovers a palace garden in her school, then joins a band of closet lesbians who fly car parts in the air while collecting cheap-looking gems so a plush toy can go home…

Or they were just in debt still…

Oh well. Maybe a second watch will make me see some positive things in this. I hope so, because while Subaru really sucked, her lover Aoi was actually a pretty cool girl.

Charlotte: The X-men were formed, people died, and time travel somehow got involved.

They have made Angel Beats!, Nagi no Asukara, Hanasaku Iroha, The Eccentric Family, and (of course) Shirobako, but P.A. Works have a curse. Summer often brings bad shows. But I did this. I endured it. And I felt angry for getting sucked into the curse like I did with Glasslip last year.

The idea itself sounded excellent, only I think it was more down to Jun Maeda and his emotion-filled Studio Key that Charlotte fell apart the way it did. It brought us characters we could warm to: Nao, Ayumi, Risa (not the dumbbell Yusa), and the “will-they-won’t-they-but-it’s-obvious-that-they-will” of Yuu and Nao, but the moment the character of Yuu fell into despair was the beginning of the end of a poor show.

Best. Confession. Reaction. Ever.
Best. Confession. Reaction. Ever.

We thought Nao was going to remain the excellent character she started off with, but the final episode proved us all wrong. We didn’t get another Angel Beats! And next time, I will learn from this P.A. Works curse, because Glasslip and Charlotte were enough to tip me over.

Well my New Year resolution will be the same as last year, and maybe I’ll keep it, but I’m choosing to use my column on OASG as a jump starter.

For the Winter cour, I’ll be doing 3 shows for Organization Anti-Social Geniuses as opposed to just the one: Myriad Colors Phantom World, Dagashi Kashi and Ao no Kanata no Four Rhythm.

You might expect me to do some more marathons next year; I want to. Like I say, give me suggestions.

Oh, and happy holidays to all of you 🙂

4 thoughts on “What I really REALLY hated about anime in 2015.

  1. SStefania December 18, 2015 / 1:13 pm

    I didn’t even watch Rolling Girls and was still disappointed by it. Mainly because I have seen some parts of the first episode and they were beautiful (I like vivid, bright colours), well animated and had nice ideas, but I postponed the watching and then I heard more and more bad things about it. And seen the screencaps. It’s sad to compare what could have been and what eventually came out.
    I couldn’t get into Nisekoi, tried reading it and had flashbacks to Love Hina. I really, really hate the “she fell on him and showed panties, so now she beats him up because he’s a pervert for seeing them” trope. I dislike most tsunderes and when I get some that is not violent, or only a little bit, or when the violence is deserved (like in Iketeru Futari), I am always pleasantly surprised – yes, my standards are that low. So if not for Chitoge being the main girl, I think I would like it, because otherwise it has all the girl-tropes I like. So I didn’t even try the anime.
    Charlotte seemed like yet another True Tears clone that PA produces all the time, so I didn’t even bother.
    Looks like I dodged so many bullets this year 😀

    • Neomo December 18, 2015 / 7:51 pm

      I hear a lot about True Tears; I think it will definitely be something I’ll be watching next year. But that rom-com trope has just gotten too old. I like how some rom-com shows are doing things a little different, but it’s a trope that the viewers still expect, and still enjoy (regardless of how cheesy it is).

  2. infinitezenith December 18, 2015 / 5:41 pm

    Charlotte was, for me, an attempt to emulate Angel Beats For me, 2015 proved to be acceptable for anime offerings. Some of the standout titles for me (also) include Hibike Euphonium and Non Non Biyori Repeat, as well as Hello! Kiniro Mosaic and Gochuumon wa Usagi Desu Ka??. Incidentally, I also stand as one of the few people who found SaeKano worth watching. So, not a terrible year on the whole, but then again, I only watch a very small percentage of shows in a given season, usually, picking the ones I feel suit my own interests.

    At any rate, here’s to hoping a solid 2016, and Happy Holidays!

    • Neomo December 18, 2015 / 8:12 pm

      I don’t think the second season of Saekano will be any better than the first one though; in fact as far as I know, A-1 Pictures haven’t officially said they’d do one yet…still all speculation. I did like the ending a lot, and it would make sense that the story would continue to them developing the game further.

Leave a Reply

