The Sunshine Award.

THE SUNSHINE AWARD.

Thanks to The Infinite Zenith for nominating me for the Sunshine Award; I really really appreciate it, since I don’t think many people actually bother to read this blog. I figured since I changed the format from writing all generalised posts to posts concerning bad shows, it would get more notice, and yeah, thanks again dude!

No offense to the award people, but I don’t really like any of the designs, so I chose a more suitable little gif instead. Go me.

…and he set me with 5 quite interesting questions that I’m happy to answer. A bit of a break from watching bad shows:

  • What factors motivated you to begin writing about anime in your blog?

Well I had my Livejournal back when I was 17 or 18. Back then I didn’t have any purpose to write about it; after all, every purpose of having an LJ was to bitch and moan about how mean their parents were to them, or how bad school was that day. So as more shows landed on me, writing about it just seemed natural, The LJ lasted until my friends left and found other various social media to play around with. But I wanted to stick with the writing.

This blog has had several renovations and makeovers; perhaps that’s not the best sign, but despite that, talking/writing about my thoughts/ideas on something I have loved for nearly 20 years feels…good inside.

Branching out has helped too. Last year I joined the group blog Organisation Anti-Social Geniuses, and I have always had the pipe dream of actually going pro. But it is a pipe dream.

  • What aspects (for instance, story, artwork, voices) constitutes a masterpiece anime in your opinion?

Definitely a mixture between artwork and story. A pretty picture is a pretty picture, but a pretty picture with words is better,,,umm…does that make sense?

One case study: Madoka Magica. In the space of 4 years, it’s become an uncontrollable franchise. The almost flawless mixture of colourful and eccentric artwork and a story that challenges the idea of a magical girl. As of the moment, I consider the 12-episode show (or the recap movies Beginning and Eternal) as the whole of the story. I was very very disappointed with Rebellion; while the artwork just kept getting better and better, I felt the story turned into more of a convoluted mess.

People have varied opinions on Rebellion, but they still acknowledge Madoka Magica as something of a masterpiece, as it has great quality in all three fields.

  • If you recognise an region in an anime, would you be interested in visiting that location?

Well as the vast majority of all anime is set in Tokyo, the suburbs of Tokyo, the outskirts of Tokyo, Tokyo in a distant future, Tokyo in the past, or in a city on a planet named after Tokyo, I’d say the options are a little limited. To be honest, my answer would be no, as I have no real desire to visit full-stop. I’m fine where I am.

  • If you have attended an anime convention, what would you suggest to first-time attendees? If not, will you consider attending one?

Well I’ve been to several, and have volunteered for several too. I can say a lot of things to first-time attendees, like health, hygiene, being sensible with money, etc……but from a personal stand, my suggestion is not to bring a ‘free hugs’ sign. You will be labelled a weeb at first sight. And it’ll be your worst nightmare.

Me???
  • What are your opinions on anime reaction blogs, whose sole purpose is to post a controversial opinion for the sake of increasing their readership?

Well could you say I’m a little biased, considering I’ve turned this into a blog that bitches about anime I find damned awful?

I think it depends on how the writer writes their blog posts. Normal anime review sites can be fine enough, as it shows that every viewer has different ideas on the shows they watch, and pick out stuff others miss, and air what they think is stupid. The ‘news’ site Anime Maru is a blog I find amusing because it mixes current affairs with current anime trends to make articles and reports that look like something from The Onion. Sarcasm may be seen as the lowest form of wit, but there’s a serious lack of it in the aniblogging scene, so Anime Maru is something that’s certainly refreshing.

So I have no real qualms about blogs that want to increase readership by being controversial. I like to read variety when I look at anime blogs.

Nominees:

Nomination time. Part of the Sunshine Award rules: answering your five given questions, selecting some blogs you want to be nominated, and give them five questions.

Fantastic Memes: College kid humor. Plus a good fine mixture of opinions regarding current shows. And he translates novels.

Illogicalzen: I envy a lot of bloggers who go into great detail with their posts. This guy is one of them, and I’ve always liked when he waxes philosophical.

Beneath The Tangles: A look at anime from a Christian point-of-view, which is very interesting, as issues of spirituality, religion and mortality are brought parallel.

Narrative Investigations: Books, graphic novels, manga, artwork, all sorts. Anime isn’t the be-all and end-all, like people like to think.

…and my questions……

  • Is there any show/manga you like but was never entirely sure about the ending? If so, then what would you have done to change it?
  • Are you frustrated how online streamers don’t release the material you want?
  • Do you think the mainstream West will ever understand Japanese media?
  • Studios and mangaka who focus on school rom-coms and slice-of-life seem to want to release material that have tiny interesting ideas. If something that had lots of ideas (may they be good ones or bad ones, or a mixture of both), how would you react?
  • Do you think moe is dying? Or do you think it can be saved?
Leave a Reply

