What happened when I watched: Himegoto.

Today’s my birthday. Don’t all celebrate at once…

So it’s the perfect opportunity to do a trap show! Next time a special occasion comes around, I’ll be doing Pico. Sure……

I will tell you one thing; when this came around in…when was it…Summer 2014…I actually had the idea of watching Himegoto thinking it would be some like of super-cool harem show. Since then I’ve heard all the crap from people saying that young male cross-dressing immediately equals the spawn of the devil. Ha! Did I just say that? Made it sound like a fetish of mine…

Well I was actually hoping for this to have 25-minute episodes, so I was kind of annoyed at how I only ended up with 4 minute ones. Possible sign that studio (Asahi) knew it was going to be shit so chose to do as little as they could be bothered to do. Reminiscent of pupa…except possibly better.

I'm going to hell.
I’m going to hell.

I actually like boys/men with pink hair.

[THERE!!! I SAID IT!!!]

And I have to really admit that seeing both Hime (the main MC) and his brother Kaguya with those dazzling colorful locks are…

…oh wait, shit. What the fucking fuck am I saying?!

This was a case of double facepalms on EVERY episode! And that was the stupid part of me seeing this from a ridiculous comedy point-of-view. I could seriously go on and on and on about how a boy, who just so happens to look feminine, is forced to cross-dress not only by his student council but by debt collectors, trips up all the time letting his thing hang out (and let more people [of both genders] see him as a Madonna), get sexually assaulted on some occasions……*gets super angry* There is a difference between poking fun because you so happen to look feminine and being okay to humiliate and shame cross-dressers, and that it’s okay to bring sexual assault into the equation.

I really did not think I’d get so mad with Himegoto.

I expected a couple of gags here and there, and I have to admit that there were. I mean:

High school + moe eyes + silly OP and ED themes = comedy/harem show.

…and sure, perhaps if Himegoto were stretched into 25-minute episodes instead of 4-minute ones, we’d be given something a lot more substantial, and thus could have been much better. For instance, I really did want to know much more about who Hime and his crazy younger brother were; how was everyday life being on the run from debt collectors who want you to dress as a maid and sell you off? Is there anyone else in the school, aside from who we saw……or maybe everyone in the school were cross-dressers (and very good ones)?? Where’s the obligatory beach episode? Where’s the obligatory Xmas episode? Where’s the obligatory summer festival episode? The original 4-koma manga had finished way before the adaptation, so I suppose you could say that may have some part into this being the complete shit that it is. Or that Asahi knew that the adaptation they promised to whoever they would do turned out to be incredibly low on meaningful content and tiny hit-and-miss gags that only 4-minute episodes (that lasted over the entire Summer 2014 season) could suffice.

So yeah, we were given one thing alone: Hime cross-dressed, and had to. And the more he hated it, the more it was inflicted upon him. You could almost treat this like one of those dodgy trap doujins that was directly adapted to the screen. After all, nearly every hentai/ecchi doujin seems to operate on that equation whether it be regular sex or tentacle rape:

Virgin who hates sex/all things associated with sex –> Has sex/something related to sex (in this case it would be cross-dressing) –> Has it driven into them at an insane rate –> Loves it immediately and spends the rest of their life doing it.

So the fact that he hated cross-dressing in these 13 4-minute episodes and precious little happened makes this a broken record of a show. I couldn’t be more happier when it was over, and the fact that I say that despite these episodes being so short (making Himegoto as a whole show being a total of 52-55 minutes long) makes it worse.

Make of this what you will.
Make of this what you will.

*phew* Writing all that has suddenly turned me into a feminist. Why the hell did I get so fucking mad?! It certainly wasn’t the shortness of the show, or the lack of story or decent character design. Don’t get me wrong though. Like I said, I really do like boys that can pull off pink hair like Hime and Kaguya do (regardless of their sexuality), and sex gags aren’t anything new at all, but I suppose there’s this extremely thin line, even though, once the show was over, I stopped giving a shit immediately.

By the way, this show did not feature any blurry white features.
By the way, this show did not feature any blurry white features.

Time to celebrate my birthday, by watching a decent show so I won’t go straight to hell yet. Staying in purgatory for now is fine enough for me.

3 thoughts on “What happened when I watched: Himegoto.

  1. SStefania August 2, 2015 / 1:35 am

    Happy birthday!
    I actually liked some parts of Himegoto, especially the brother and the reverse-trap, and the meido with the stuffed bra. Yes, harassment of the main character and that drama at the end were awful, but years of watching anime desensitized me at least a little bit to violence against men, even girly ones. It’s horrible and I cringe if a show is only/mostly about that, but if there are some other things, I focus on them and have fun ignoring that. Plus, I was always a horrible person.
    I also liked that it had short episodes, I really like those series as they are more digestible in my opinion.
    But yeah, Boku no Pico trilogy would probably be better, at least it’s a famous classic and the last part is really stupidly funny at times.

    • Neomo August 2, 2015 / 11:06 am

      Well the Boku no Pico trilogy would have been better because there’s a lot of stuff I can genuinely poke fun at. And I found next to nothing to poke fun at in Himegoto.
      And thank you!

  2. infinitezenith September 12, 2015 / 4:23 am

    Though not directly related to your post, with the aim of encouraging you to contine blogging, I’ve nominated you and this here blog for the Sunshine Award 🙂

Leave a Reply

